DUI Arrests: First Offense
X

Joliet Offices

58 North Chicago Street, Suite 600
Joliet, IL 60432

Phone: 815-267-0500

1000 Essington Road
Joliet, IL 60435

Phone: 815-582-4990

Naperville Offices

3380 LaCrosse Lane, Suite 105
Naperville, IL 60564

Phone: 630-780-1034

2135 CityGate Lane, Suite 300
Naperville, IL 60563

Phone: 630-352-3300

JOLIET 815-582-4990

Facebook Google+ LinkedIn Twitter Youtube
Facebook Google+ LinkedIn Twitter Youtube
Search

Joliet Illinois DUI Defense Lawyer

Joliet Illinois DUI defense attorney

First-Time Driving Under the Influence Offenses in Will County

Once considered to be little more than an enhanced traffic ticket, DUI is now one of the highest-priority crimes in Illinois for both law enforcement and State prosecutors. Moreover, over 85 percent of the state's DUI arrestees are first-time offenders. Lengthy probation and possible jail time are just part of the possible punishment. The direct and indirect financial penalties, in addition to the extended driver's license restrictions, are arguably much harder on individuals and families than any time behind bars.

The tough lawyers at the Robertson Legal Group, LLC fight DUI cases one at a time. We use proven methods to protect your rights when it seems that everyone else wants to trample on them. We work hard to minimize or eliminate the negative consequence of a DUI arrest, and we are not satisfied with anything less than the best possible result.

Drunk Driving Penalties

A first DUI is a Class A misdemeanor that carries up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine. Several enhancements may apply. If the driver had a BAC above .16, there is a mandatory add-on of a $500 fine and 100 hours of community service. If there was a passenger under 16 in the vehicle, there is an additional $1,000 fine and 200 6 months imprisonment. Other enhancements, such as a wreck, raise the crime to felony status.

There are also severe driving restrictions. If the operator did not have a valid license or insurance, the State will impound the vehicle. Upon conviction, the State will suspend your driver's license for a year. Although suspended drivers are eligible for relief through a Secretary of State hearing, that relief is not guaranteed and is always limited; for example, drivers must have Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices (BAIID) installed in their vehicles, and these BAIIDs must have dashcams to ensure that the drivers cannot cheat the system.

Finally, the State estimates the total cost to be about $17,000. Much of that expense is due to high-risk auto insurance, which costs about $1,500 a year for at least three years, and the lost income due to jail time and/or community service.

DUI Defenses in Illinois

A DUI prosecution starts when the officer pulls over a suspect, and that is also where DUI defenses begin. Officers must have specific evidence to stop a vehicle at random. If the stop occurred at a vehicle checkpoint, an attorney will make sure that officers followed established procedures to the letter.

Once a peace officer suspects a DUI, the officer nearly always performs field sobriety tests, and the officer nearly always said that the person "failed" the tests. However, it is not up to a cop to give a passing or failing grade. The jury does that. Many times, these defenses are so strong that there is no need for a trial. An experienced attorney can negotiate with prosecutors and obtain a reduced sentence. This closure means that you get the case behind you and get back to living life.

To avoid some or all of the devastating penalties associated with a first DUI, contact Robertson Legal Group, LLC at 815-582-4990. We offer free initial consultations to clients in Plainfield, Mokena, Frankfort, Crest Hill, Bolingbrook, Romeoville, and throughout Will County.

Back to Top